Greg Heartsill

STATE REPRESENTATIVE

Twenty-Eighth District

Statehouse: (515) 281-3221
e-mail – greg.heartsill@legis.iowa.gov

MAILING ADDRESS

Post Office Box 185 Melcher, IA 50163



House of Representatives

State of Iowa
Eighty-Sixth General Assembly
STATEHOUSE
Des Moines, Iowa 50319

COMMITTEES

Government Oversight, Vice Chair Local Government, Vice Chair Environmental Protection Judiciary Public Safety

May 21, 2015

Dear Iowa School Superintendent,

Recent news and eyewitness reports have indicated that certain Iowa students were subjected to sexually graphic and obscene presentations during this year's Governor's LGBTQ Youth Conference that was held at Prairie Meadows in Altoona on Friday, April 3, 2015. It has also been reported that the closing speaker made frequent use of profanity during his presentation and even suggested that students vandalize the property of those who might disagree with their views.

In addition, there is evidence that public funds were involved in support of this conference, either directly or indirectly; and thus the concern expressed in this letter.

I assure you, these reports are being taken seriously in the Legislature. Hopefully they are also being taken seriously by those who work most closely with Iowa's students. Therefore, your response to the following questions is respectfully requested, at your earliest convenience.

- 1. Did faculty and/or staff from your district attend the conference? If so, how many?
- 2. Did students from your district attend any of the workshops? If so, how many students?
- 3. Did your district cover the cost of the conference registration for faculty, staff or students? If so, for how many attendees and what was the total amount spent?
- 4. Did your district provide transportation? If so, how many vehicles and at what cost?

Thank you in advance for your prompt response to this request.

Respectfully submitted,

Heartsil

State Representative House District 28

CC:

Speaker Kraig Paulsen Majority Leader Linda Upmeyer Senator Jerry Behn

continued from page 1...

Senator Jake Chapman Senator Ken Rozenboom Rep. Rob Bacon Rep. Brian Best Rep. Tedd Gassman Rep. Jarad Klein

Rep. Sandy Salmon

Rep. Ralph Watts

Senator Dennis Guth Senator Jason Schultz

Rep. Clel Baudler Rep. Dean Fisher Rep. Steve Holt

Rep. John Kooiker

Rep. Larry Sheets

Senator David Johnson

Senator Amy Sinclair

Rep. Terry Baxter

Rep. Joel Fry

Rep. Bobby Kaufmann

Rep. Walt Rogers

Rep. Guy Vander Linden